Draft Logo Design

Beon Font Meduim :
Copyright (c) 2011, Bastien Sozeau (http://sozoo.fr | contact@sozoo.fr ), with Reserved Font Name Beon. This Font Software is licensed under the SIL Open Font License, Version 1.1.
The OFL allows the licensed fonts to be used, studied, modified and redistributed freely as long as they are not sold by themselves.

I wanted to expand the logo design based off of the original neon sign from my previous graphic design. I borrowed inspiration from vintage neon signs that I looked up on google. I’m a huge fan of neon signs and I thought it’d be a cool idea to make my logo look like a sign you might see on a vintage record shop.

https://www.indieground.net/images/blog/2018/20_best_neon_lights_indiegroundblog_18.jpg

I saw many signs with vinyl records, and I thought it’d be great to incorporate the same idea within my design. I’d like to implement more complex shapes into my next design, maybe even make the text come out of the side of the vinyl.

https://c8.alamy.com/comp/M8TJHJ/neon-sign-for-red-cat-records-a-vinyl-record-store-in-vancouver-bc-M8TJHJ.jpg

I wanted this design to be relatively simple while still grabbing the user’s attention. With this in mind, I wanted the elements to be relatively simple so that it could fit in many different settings while still being appropriate (i.e. Websites, social media, advertisements, etc.).

The “RF” in this logo stands for “Royal Flush Records”.

To create this design, I relied on the arc line tool to create the lines of the vinyl record. I then transformed the object horizontally and duplicated it to align it with itself. I repeated this process three more times in order to create the four pieces of the record. I found it pretty difficult to pull-off in the beginning since I’m still getting used to Illustrator but after getting used to holding down the shift key, it became a lot easier.

I created three duplicates of each element of the logo and placed a gaussian blur effect on every line and word used in the photo. I used Beon Medium Font for my design, under a free to use, modify, and distribute without selling by themselves license.

This design is still a work in progress but I’m looking forward to how it will turn out in the end.

2 thoughts on “Draft Logo Design

Add yours

  1. The first moment I looked at this logo I loved it! It pops to the eye, but is yet so simple and intricate at the same time. I really like the red lettering in the middle with the different red font at the bottom, it looks really good with the white. The only thing I would mage change would be to make the “records” the same red neon look as the RF is. You could also try removing the rectangle around it but I think it looks really good and very well put together! Im excited to see what you change up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking back on my work, I think that there’s a lot that I can change. I like how I used a lot of vector lines to ensure that the design was scalable in the end. I’d like to make some tweaks to the lighting of my final design to make the neon letters and sign standout more and I think that’d I’d be able to do this by also utilizing some features in Photoshop, so I’ll be sure to include both the .AI file and the .PSD file when I turn the Final Draft into Blackboard. I think the logo is simple, stands out but could use more elements to make it a bit more interesting and look more like an actual neon sign. I realize now that I actually don’t like the font I used for the “Records” text and to be honest, I struggled with choosing one that worked. I’ll probably keep it the same as the one I used for “RF”. One of my group members gave me this feedback and I think it was really valuable in terms of how I’ll tweak it moving forward. I think opening up a corner of the vinyl record and adding a vector image of a traced-out Ace of Spades would be a really interesting addition to the design.
    There was a great feedback given and I’m super excited to get back to working on it.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started